top of page
  • Writer's pictureSpider-Plush

Spider-Plush Storytime #8: The Search for A Lost Fan-Film.

Updated: Jun 28, 2023

HELLO everyone, it's me Spider-Plush (Also Known as Eddie) and i have another story that happened to me like 2 months ago.


THUMBNAIL.

New Thumbnail art.


So here's the deal. I was looking for Spider-Man Fan Films to watch and i found a poster for a film called "Spider-Cide"


I was like "what the fuck is this?" and decided to look for it.


I couldn't find it, so i gave up.


A few months later i tried to find it again and i failed again and forgot about it.


BUT ONE DAY.... I decided to post about it on my stupid twitter, and NO ONE could tell me anything about it, not even the Spider-man experts could tell me what this was. So, i said "Fuck it" and decided to look for the film myself.


Now, i've done 3 lost media searches in my life, and 2 of them were successful.


One of them was a Spider-Man 3 Poster from 2005. It was posted on Instagram by SpiderManArchives but the account has been deleted so a bunch of stuff was lost (Not Really).


So, i decided to look for it by googling really hard until i saw a fan page that featured a picture of the poster taken at a Las Vegas Expo in 2005.


https://twitter.com/aSpiderPlush/status/1586910138438295552

Also, thanks to @KlonoaBat on Twitter for providing more info on this poster.


https://twitter.com/KlonoaBat/status/1587670080741003265


My second Lost Media search was El Sorprendente Hombre Araña, which was kinda successful. I already wrote an outdated document about it.



(Found by @x_fakel on Libgen, which isn't a safe website anymore)



So, let's analyze every detail about SpiderCide that i could find.


First off... The poster.



Wow, just look at this thing, the poster makes this thing look like a dark, edgy and depressing video, but according to the IMDb page, this is a comedy film, which is bullshit because i really wanted to see a depressing Spider-Man plush video.


www.imdb.com/title/tt1927134/


The poster shows 2 scenes, Spidey is looking through a window, and Spidey trying to kill himself for some reason.


The poster actually goes hard as fuck, however it says "Spiderman" instead of "Spider-Man", a hyphen changes everything. The logo looks nice, it's the word SpiderCide in front of a broken phone screen. (It's supposed to be a web, but it looks like a broken phone screen.)


So, here is the plot synopsis for this film:




No, i did not forget to write the plot synopsis, there is just NO plot synopsis available anywhere on the internet.


There is not a lot of info about this thing, here is a list of everything we know:


- Poster (And another photo that i will show later)

- Director (his name is Joel Sandvos, he is also known for the documentary "The Pink Room")

- Company that produced it (Live Media Entertainment.)

- A release date (May 15, 2009)

- Runtime (Around 20 minutes)*

- Screened at the Comic-Con 2009 Independent Film Festival. *



And that's it.


Here is the best way to research things... just look it up on google lol



We're off to a shitty start, the results are nothing but the Spider-Man clone that is also called "SPIDERCIDE" So yeah, that sucks i guess. BUT THEN I REMEMBERED WHAT A REALLY GOOD YOUTUBER BY THE NAME OF LSUPERSONICQ PROBABLY SAID ONCE... just try contacting someone.


So, me and DailyGargoyles decided to find some way to contact the people involved in this film. We found the director's email (Don't try to contact him) and i emailed him asking politely for more info on this.


I emailed back in May 10, and i still have not gotten a response. (Maybe he doesn't have access to his gmail anymore.)


I made 3 reddit posts about it, one of them got a few upvotes and one comment... by a bot.


The other two were downvoted by one person that really fucking hates my reddit page. (That's so mean, why would they do that)


I told a youtuber about it, and he tried looking for it... he couldn't find anything, but i appreciate his effort.


BUT THEN... I found something that is absolutely amazing... ANOTHER PICTURE HOLY FUCKING SHIT


This picture comes from Live Media Entertainment's website (Now deleted), it shows 3 films, Spidercide and other films.


I was fucking shocked when i saw this, i instantly downloaded this picture and added it to the IMDb page.


I also found a credits page on IMDb, which features the name of an editor and the name of a producer, but i haven't tried contacting them yet.


I clicked on the SpiderCide icon and it sent me to NOTHING! (The site supports Adobe Flash, and it's dead)


But it apparently sent you to a Vimeo link, which shows that the film was available online at one point but it's gone now so that's awesome i guess.


i found an email for live media entertainment, and i tried to email them but i forgot that once a website is dead, every email that was associated with the website dies too. (that wasn't my smartest move)


So yeah, the search is not going well, if you could provide any info on this film, send it to @SpiderCideLost on twitter (VIA DMs or you can tag me in a tweet, idk man i just want to know more about this film.) or you can send it through any of my other twitter pages.



That'll be it for this article, thank you for reading!


Bye bye. (Pls share.)




12 views0 comments
bottom of page